Background

The principles of digital self-determination are set out in the Federal Council's Digital Switzerland Strategy and the Digital Foreign Policy Strategy. Against this background, the Digital Self-Determination Network was formed in 2019 so that citizens, companies and public institutions could reap the benefits of the data economy while adhering to the fundamental values of a liberal democratic society.

The following partners are involved in creating and expanding the Digital Self-Determination Network:

Mission and objectives
The network was created to promote digital self-determination in Switzerland. Our society should enjoy the full potential of the data economy while still upholding our democratic values. All stakeholder groups need to work together and contribute to building common digital platforms and data spaces that are secure and trusted. Only then can we harness the added value they bring for the benefit of all.

Principles
Implementing digital self-determination is only possible if the following basic principles are in place:

  1. Trust:transparency about who has access to which data and for what purpose data is being collected and processed is a key factor in ensuring traceability and thus social trust in the digital transformation process.
  2. Control and self-determined transfer of data: citizens have control over their personal data. They can access all data relevant to their decisions, decide on the significance and potential value of this data and, on this basis, determine how it may be used by third parties.
  3. User-centric, data-driven ecosystems: data-driven ecosystems give users more choice and offer solutions tailored to their specific needs. Users are able to choose varying degrees of disclosure for their data and are clearly informed about these choices. Individuals are free to transfer their own data efficiently to other service providers.
  4. Decentralisation and proximity to citizens: data is controlled by different stakeholders instead of being concentrated in the hands of technology giants or state institutions. Decentralised data governance helps to prevent abuses of power. Data collaborations create new possibilities for the use of data and improve the services available at local and regional levels.

    The network's functions/activities:

    1. Creating opportunities for all interested parties to exchange information on a range of topics, activities and lessons learned about trusted data spaces and digital self-determination
    2. Networking of stakeholders, suggestions for collaborations and support for initiating and implementing trusted data spaces
    3. Consultation forum for public decision-makers
    4. Support and funding for data collaborations (sector-specific and/or cross-sectoral)
    5. Opportunities to organise events
    6. Opportunities to write discussion papers

    Members
    The network consists of committed actors from all stakeholder groups in Switzerland. It is open to all individuals, companies and organisations interested in sharing and supporting the concept of digital self-determination.

    How can I join the network?
    Interested individuals and legal entities registered in Switzerland can become members of the network and participate in the cross-sectoral and/or sector-specific working groups and workshops.

Hintergrund

Die Grundsätze der digitalen Selbstbestimmung sind in der bundesrätlichen Strategie «Digitale Schweiz» sowie der «Digitalaussenpolitik» festgelegt. In diesem Kontext hat sich 2019 das Netzwerk «Digitale Selbstbestimmung» formiert, um Bürgerinnen und Bürgern, Unternehmen und öffentlichen Einrichtungen eine Nutzung der Datenwirtschaft auf der Basis freiheitlich-demokratischer Grundwerte zu ermöglichen. 

Die folgenden Partner organisieren den Aufbau und die Weiterentwicklung des Netzwerks digitale Selbstbestimmung:

Ziel und Zweck
Das Netzwerk dient der Umsetzung der Digitalen Selbstbestimmung in der Schweiz. Unsere Gesellschaft soll das Potenzial der Datenwirtschaft auf Basis unserer demokratischen Werte optimal nutzen. Alle Akteure sollen zusammenarbeiten und zu gemeinsamen sicheren und vertrauenswürdigen digitalen Plattformen und Datenräumen beitragen, um den entstehenden Mehrwert zum Nutzen aller einzusetzen.

Prinzipien
Die Umsetzung der Digitalen Selbstbestimmung erfordert die Gewährleistung der folgenden Grundprinzipien:

  1. Vertrauen: Transparenz darüber, wer Zugang zu welchen Daten hat, sowie zu welchem Zweck die Daten gesammelt und verarbeitet werden, ist zentral für die Nachvollziehbarkeit und damit für das gesellschaftliche Vertrauen in die digitale Transformation.
  2. Kontrolle und selbstbestimmte Weitergabe: Bürgerinnen und Bürger haben die Kontrolle über ihre persönlichen Daten. Sie können effektiv auf alle für ihre Entscheidungen relevanten Daten zugreifen, die Aussagekraft und den potenziellen Wert dieser Daten einschätzen und deren Nutzung durch Dritte auf dieser Basis selbst bestimmen.
  3. Nutzerorientierte datenbasierte Ökosysteme: Datenbasierte Ökosysteme sollen die Wahlmöglichkeiten von Nutzer*innen vergrössern und für ihre unterschiedlichen Bedürfnisse massgeschneiderte Lösungen bieten. Den Nutzer*innen sollen skalierbare Angebote bezüglich des Umfangs der Preisgabe ihrer Daten und verständliche Informationen über diese Angebote zur Verfügung stehen. Individuen sollen die Möglichkeit haben, eigene Daten effizient auf andere Dienstleister zu übertragen.
  4. Dezentralisierung und Bürgernähe: Als Alternative zur Datenkonzentration bei grossen Technologieunternehmungen oder beim Staat sollen Daten durch verschiedene Akteure kontrolliert werden. Eine Dezentralisierung der Datenherrschaft wirkt Machtmissbrauch entgegen. Datenkooperationen sollen neue Möglichkeiten für den Gebrauch von Daten schaffen und der Verbesserung von Dienstleistungen auf lokaler und regionaler Ebene dienen.

    Funktionen/Aktivitäten des Netzwerks:

    1. Schaffung von Austauschmöglichkeiten für alle Interessierten zu Themen, Aktivitäten und Erfahrungen rund um vertrauenswürdige Datenräume und Digitale Selbstbestimmung
    2. Vernetzung von Stakeholdern, Anregungen zu Kooperationen sowie Unterstützung in der Initiierung und Umsetzung von vertrauenswürdigen Datenräumen
    3. Konsultationsforum für öffentliche Entscheidungsträger
    4. Unterstützung und Förderungen von Datenkooperationen (sektoriell und/oder übergreifend)
    5. Möglichkeit Veranstaltungen zu organisieren
    6. Möglichkeit der Verfassung von Diskussionspapieren

    Mitglieder
    Das Netzwerk besteht aus engagierten Akteuren aller Interessengruppen in der Schweiz. Es steht allen Individuen, Unternehmen und Organisationen offen, die die Idee der digitalen Selbstbestimmung teilen und unterstützen möchten.

    Wie kann ich mitmachen?
    Interessierte natürliche und juristische Personen, die in der Schweiz registriert sind, können Mitglied des Netzwerks werden – diese können bei den sektorübergreifenden und/oder in sektorspezifischen Arbeitsgruppen und Workshops mitwirken.